This years STN trip was an awesome trip filled with memories that I will never forget. Although we were having lots of fun, we were also learning a lot. I have learned everything from how much I like roller coasters to how a News Channel Station works. I would say that the most valuable lessons I have learned on the trip was that everybody has a story, versatility is key to success, and hard work pays off!

  Being part of the Spot Feature and Broadcast team has made me realize how important it is to have a good story. During Spot Feature, you can't make up your own story, you have to find one, having a good story is what separates your video from others in the judges point of view. At STN, I probably talked to about 25 different people, listening to their stories, and asking them to interview them. Out of those 25 stories, I used two in both broadcast and spot feature. I find it really interesting that everybody has a story. It may not be that interesting, but everybody does. I think this will help me in the future be more open minded about who I talk to and how I think of them.

  During a breakout session, I learned about versatility and this lesson has already been helping me. Being versatile is a great skill to have. You have to be open minded and be willing to try different things out. This will heIp you appeal to jobs and have a higher chance of getting one. If you just stick to one thing, you're limiting yourself to go above and beyond. I recently had to do a video for a science project but I didn't have Final Cut Pro on my computer. I was about to give up and just do a poster instead but I thought about the breakout session about versatility and decided to try to edit on Vegas Pro. Now, I know which editing program I like better and which one I need a little more practice in. So, being versatile can help you to be successful.

  Another valuable lesson I learned on the trip was that hard work pays off! Spot Feature and Sweet 16 Broadcast (categories I competed in) won 1st place and 2nd place. Hearing our school name being called at the closing ceremony is the best feeling in the world! But we didn't automatically win, a lot of hard work was put behind the magic. We had early mornings, weekends spent fundraising or practicing, stress, and lots of fundraising. It may seem like a pain at the time, but in the end it is all worth it!

  There are so many more lessons that I have learned on the trip that are also very valuable to me! I know that I will remember these lessons and use them to help me in life. Maybe these lessons could also be valuable to you! Who knows?

 

Mr. M
4/15/2014 07:04:14 pm

Great blog post Leanna! You hit on some great lessons that you learned on the trip. Yes EVERYONE does have a story to tell and it's your job to find out what it is to make that person shine. You and your team managed to do that but like you said, it wasn't easy. Life is going to be like that. You'll need to work hard to achieve success just like the awards you were a part of at STN. You worked very hard at all of the practices and it definitely paid off in the end. Yes, hearing our school's name at STN is an awesome feeling for even me, and I'm not even on the team but I know how hard you all worked. I am very proud of all of you!

Reply



Leave a Reply.